Notes on healthy living

Something missing in many of our diets: the importance of gelatin

Recently I discovered the bad effects to my own health from not getting enough gelatin, especially from meat broths. My knees suffered the most. So I have gone back to making meat broths using my pressure cooker to suck the most good out of all kinds of meats that most folks overlook – pork hocks, pork chop bones, steak bones, and especially ox tails. Within 3 weeks my knees were more consistently pain-free and stronger from the gelatin and blood/joint building nutrition.

While in the run-up to my recent trip to the coast I neglected the meat broths a bit too long and started having knee trouble again. Just two servings after getting back home and my knees are noticeably improved.

The importance of daily rhythm and healthy frame of mind

I was walking back from an open mic night with a friend and neighbor recently and this came up. He used this term “rhythm” in reference to creative routines and discipline. I realized it applied to me in not just my habits as a writer, but in creating the feeling that I want to start my day. It helps put me in the right frame of mind.

I think we too easily give over a daily rhythm of quality time to ‘smart’ devices that are turning us into spiritual idiots. A trip to the beautiful Oregon coast this past week with my wife helped me correct this. I had been letting work and even volunteer activities intrude upon my peace of mind. I found myself turning on the pc and sitting at the desk reading news and emails before my mind had even oriented itself. Not healthy.

Why not take some time to start the day writing down a dream or re-orienting ourselves to our ideals?

For me the best day starts out with my cup of morning tea and writing a poem (or at least writing down a dream) before I turn on the pc and phone. I have decided to take William Stafford’s advice and write a poem a day, lowering my standards for days when I’m not writing so well. Creative people of all kinds can do this by drawing, singing, playing a song, dancing — whatever gets the spirit of life moving through us before encountering the world’s negativity full in the face.

Health of mind is too easily overlooked. It is under our control. Peace is a natural state of being and we give too much of it away to transient matters.

Edgar Cayce said, “Why worry when you can pray?” Indeed.

I say, why stress when you can create?

2 thoughts on “Notes on healthy living

Comments are closed.