solarpunk/eco-fiction content coming soon

Writer’s hiatus going well. Wrote a 1200 word solarpunk short story Dec 23 on way to Christmas with family in Bend, OR.

Today I woke with some insights about prologues. Sometimes writers use them as a way to set up a story before chapter 1. It seems to me that a prologue is unnecessary except with one or both of these conditions: (a) the story is long arcing (epic) and needs a bit of backstory to orient the reader; (b) there is crucial information needed to create reader interest in the main character before jumping into the action in chapter 1. Otherwise, best to write a better opening.

More ideas of speculative fiction come everyday, and I can only write a fraction of them. Since solarpunk press is no longer publishing monthly stories, I am considering starting a new solarpunk blog which I think is best open to all interested writer’s contributions since I just do not write enough material myself.

Let me know if you are interested.

About Kannon McAfee

Poet, healer, professional astrologer. I'm dedicated to advancing the science and art of astrology. My specialty is birth chart interpretation and rectification (for those with questionable charts or missing birth times). My focus is on helping people meet their purpose in life while understanding their options within that.
This entry was posted in Eco-fiction and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.