Getting rid of non-healing words


I have decided at the urging of my better wisdom to give up the words “bullshit”, “baloney”, “hogwash”, and “nonsense.” These seem to have been favorite exclamations of mine to express indignant disagreement, which I carried around like arrows in a pouch to fire at others’ opinions. I’m not waiting for Lent or New Years, two things I don’t observe anyway.

I’m giving them up now.

Why carry around such inflammatory verbal arrows when I am a healer, and have dedicated my life to healing, even renaming myself Kannon to resonate with this ideal?
(Quan Yin, Bodhisattva of healing and compassion)
How can I meditate, practice Zen, yet still cling to such words?

Since I have recently offered myself as a mediator to a local cooperative to which I belong, I feel it is time to be more consistent with a peaceful, mediating attitude. Words matter. How we say them matters. What matters most to me is to be an effective communicator.

When certain words exacerbate disagreement, bring negative reactions, or are devices of ego to establish a dominant position, then they are no longer useful. They are getting in the way of communicating and healing instead of facilitating it.

About Kannon McAfee

Poet, healer, professional astrologer. I'm dedicated to advancing the science and art of astrology. My specialty is birth chart interpretation and rectification (for those with questionable charts or missing birth times). My focus is on helping people meet their purpose in life while understanding their options within that.
This entry was posted in Consciousness and wisdom, Healing. Bookmark the permalink.