A Call to to Non-violence & Healing


Violence begins in our thoughts.

I’m not going to preach here. I’m not entirely innocent. I have struggled in the last year or so with occasional private thoughts of revenge or dominance that I like to think are out of character for me, but which have bubbled up to the surface under certain stresses.

I’m simply asking that whoever can, commit with me to being part of the solution, part of the healing, rather than adding any more hateful thoughts or fighting words into our societal dialogue.

I have committed myself to sending healing energy to Roseburg, Oregon every day until it seems no longer needed. I’ve done this kind of thing many times. Anyone can make fun, claiming it is nothing and will do no good, but it simply doesn’t matter to me. Do whatever you want to make a positive contribution to healing. Whatever you can do matters.

Non-violence is not a struggle against violence. It is a complete shift to the power of Love. Don’t fight violence. That’s exactly what it wants, what feeds it, what keeps it alive. It is the healing power of Postive Love energy, thoughts, intentions that heals and causes darkness and hate to dissipate.

Remember, there are some who, due to complicated personal issues or matters of mental health, may not be able to keep themselves in a balanced, peaceful state of being. It is up to those of us who can to inject healing in some form, in whatever way we can, to maintain hope and offer peace. Judgment or more agitation accomplishes nothing. Taking on others’ pain or suffering accomplishes nothing. Love can be powerful when it works unimpeded by these things.

Consider Combatants for Peace, who takes a different approach to the Israeli-Palestinian conflicts. They are writing a new chapter in that age old story by saying that it is time to put down arms and start listening to their former enemies.

cfpeace - al Fiat quote Yes

Sometimes the first step to loving your enemy is just taking the time to listen to him. This means putting aside the fear and taking a risk to meet him halfway. His anger may also come from the grief of lost loved ones, from trauma, from pain.

