Astrology & Ethics


A number of times this issue has come up in online forums I visit. I think that its time I consider putting up a personal statement on ethics in astrology so you know where I stand.

I'll even take input on this matter from all of you who care to comment before I develop my statement.

The astrology I practice does not heavily emphasize prediction of any kind and that is where the sharpest prickles come in regard to ethics. Predictions of death or the death of one's mate are probably the touchiest issues that trigger ethical flags. I have never oriented my use of astrology in that direction. However, it may be necessary for those out there considering my services what it is I do and the boundaries I respect while doing it.

Addendum

I think all there is to say regarding ethics after I’ve contemplated it, is that I practice the Golden Rule. I put myself in your shoes and see what I would or would not want delivered to me. You can help me with this by how you frame our consult. If you’ve chosen a birth chart interpretation then I know you aren’t looking for me to engage in predictive/future trends analysis.

Its not that complicated.

Still would like to hear from any subscribers relating to your experiences with astrologers and the ethical guidelines you think they should have.

One thought on “Astrology & Ethics

  1. Brave heart you are !

    You and I were involved in a forum discussion where the contributing poster asked our opinions on the ethics of our presumptions of socio-cultural and political biases in dialogue with each other as colleagues. This matter also applies to the counselor-client relationship.

    I think it very important that an astrologer not jump to conclusions that a client shares the same world view, the same sexual nature, the same level of intellectual interests, etc. I believe a tone of shared humility and awe at the process of discovering a chart together is where the reading dynamic should lie. Each chart I read is a gift of another person’s life presented to me in trust that the astrologer bears no judgement on the client. It’s also important that the analyst not place suggestions for improving one’s status into the client’s mind that s/he has not suggested are under consideration. A good astrologer has the conversational capacity to elicit feedback from the client so that changes in approach to life matters under examination are pertinent to their world-view.

    So, simply put, any presumptions of mine that the client would do better to share my lifestyle and cultural opinions just do not apply. Likewise, it’s important for a client to understand that their presumptions of who I am because I’m an astrologer are probably erroneous. I don’t own one single pentagram, nor is there a crystal ball in my house !

Comments are closed.