About the Carlos Castaneda birth document


I have a copy in my possession, thanks to anthropologist Jay Fikes. It states clearly a birth time of “nueve a.m.” Nine a.m. See the column to the left where it is clearly written on the fifth line containing handwriting.

Castaneda birth certificate

If you are a long-time astrologer you know how difficult it can be to get accurate, documented birth times for many people. Hopefully you know how important it is to start with a documented specific time and that minutes can make a huge difference. Hopefully you know that word-of-mouth quotes and times recalled from memory are notoriously unreliable and should not be given an A rating in the Rodden system.

An example is found in the Source Notes on astrodatabank’s page for Barack Obama … It shows a grand total of eight different birth times prior to the birth document itself becoming public.

Back to Castaneda. Around 2005 or so I discovered The Teachings of Don Juan and was riveted over and over by this astounding, vivid account. In early July I asked in the facebook Shamanism community what people thought of The Teachings, fact or fiction. When a poster pointed me to the BBC documentary where I saw Dr. Fikes speaking on his follow-up to Castaneda’s “work” in Mexico, I knew I had to do my own follow-up.

My coming page(s) on the birth chart of author Carlos Cesar Salvador Arana aka Carlos Castaneda will be sharply tinged with a message relating to the importance of integrity — in the conventional sense — and the importance of distinguishing fact from fiction in the spiritual search.

About Kannon McAfee

Poet, healer, professional astrologer. I'm dedicated to advancing the science and art of astrology. My specialty is birth chart interpretation and rectification (for those with questionable charts or missing birth times). My focus is on helping people meet their purpose in life while understanding their options within that.
This entry was posted in Astrology. Bookmark the permalink.